got ethical husbandry?

RBTA transfer process?

WCKDVPR

Supporting Member
Hi All,

Newjack has kindly donated me an RBTA for my tank (which will hopefully host my clowns). Picking it up today and I was curious as to the best method for "prepping" it for my tank as to not introduce any possible pests.

Lots of conflicting info out there on the web.

Thanks,
Mike

I am new at this so I am just asking (and I am sure some have been stupid questions, so thanks for taking that in stride from a newbie).

Getting things from reputable people in this group has been amazing. What a patient, helpful, and generous group you have all been. Thanks!

Thanks! It is my pleasure to support this group. Can't wait to get something growing large enough that I can help the next person get started.

You should be thinking about pests regardless of who you get livestock from. Nobody should be offended if you dip or quarantine corals that you receive from them. You're just being a responsible reefer, protecting your investment.

That said, @Randy dipped his anemones in Bayer and it did fine.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I would definitely not dip an anemone. They are some of the few tank critters for which it is widely recommended against since the pathogens you are dipping to get rid of don’t hitch a ride on their flesh, and because it can harm them. As long as they aren’t on a rock from the previous aquarium you are fine.

As to the other point, none of us are offended by someone dipping/inspecting a frag we gave or sold them. It is standard good practice and should always be done when appropriate.

If you are getting an anemone from a reputable person such as Newjack, I doubt you'll find any surprise guests.