Kessil

2 mp40 or 1 mp60??

Depends what you're going to do with them, limitations on where to put them, etc. Ideally I'd say 1 mp40 on either side would be perfect.. but if you have a peninsula look, or you want really strong flow on one side, the an mp60. Also when you need to take down your vortechs for repair/maintenance (and you will) having the other one still running to have flow would be good.

Note: I have no practical experience with the Mp60, just the mp40s

I have a 4x2x2 and plan on using one MP60. I've seen a tank set-up with just one and it had plenty of flow.

My preference would be 2 x MP40.
Two smaller jets of current should be gentler than a single larger one.
More random currents if you place them at opposite ends, facing each other.
Or, you can even set up a gyre by placing at each end, but offset front/back, for even more flow.

I have 2 mp60s, 2 mp40s and 2 mp10s. I've tried them all and I would use 2 mp40s on your tank like I said above.

iani said:
I have 2 mp60s, 2 mp40s and 2 mp10s. I've tried them all and I would use 2 mp40s on your tank like I said above.

These posts always crack me up.

Aquascaping changes a tank drastically, and how ones sets up a tank depends on what they want to keep. So many factors... and more opinions.

I have a very open scape, not much rock at all. For my tank, the MP60 is perfect. Will it be once the tanks fills in? Probably not. But two MP40s is ugly. See, another opinion :lol:

I hate random flow patterns, no better way to kill the gyre I always try to achieve. After years of fussing with random and the problems it creates, gyre is my only way from here out.

JAR said:
There is a good reason to use two Mp40's.
If one stops working you still have 1. ;)

For whom, me? I own a half dozen Tunzes I could slap in at any time. I'm looking for less pumps, not more.

melly mel said:
About to purchase my vortechs this weekend....should I go with 2 mp40 or 1 mp60 for my 48x24x20 100 gallon?