Apex Fusion Club

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by roostertech, Jan 20, 2017.

  1. Flagg37

    Flagg37 Colorado member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    982
    My skimmer is a Vertex Alpha 170 which uses an AC pump. So I just have it running 24/7. I've thought about just plugging it into the wall since I've not used any of the apex programming with it.
     
  2. Edgar Sandoval

    Edgar Sandoval Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    107
    I want my skimmer to turn off when my return pump turns off and during feed mode


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. rygh

    rygh BOD

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    737
    worked
     
  4. rygh

    rygh BOD

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    737
    Mine does that.
    You need:
    If FeedA 000 Then OFF
     
  5. roostertech

    roostertech reef noob

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    466
    Does it matter if your skimmer is still running though if when your return pump is off? I just keep mine running to "clean" that bit of water.
     
  6. rygh

    rygh BOD

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    737
    Depends on how many bubbles you want everywhere.
     
  7. Edgar Sandoval

    Edgar Sandoval Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    107
    Some skimmers overflow when the water level changes


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. roostertech

    roostertech reef noob

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    466
    you mean after return pump is restarted? I have a sponge between skimmer and return chamber that pretty much take care of any large bubble. Only really really tiny one make it through.
     
  9. roostertech

    roostertech reef noob

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    466
    But you water level should not change that much when your return is off? Mine probably move less than a 1/4"
     
  10. Edgar Sandoval

    Edgar Sandoval Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    107
    I've had my skimmer overflow twice when running feed mode. Does why I rather turn it off now


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. Edgar Sandoval

    Edgar Sandoval Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    107
    You think this settings are ok?

    Fallback ON
    Set ON
    If outlet ReturnMain_2 = OFF Then OFF
    If FeedA 000 The OFF
    Defer 001:00 Then ON


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. rygh

    rygh BOD

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    737
    Yes, should be fine.
    I do it a bit differently: My "Feed" mode is set to last an hour. So no defer needed.
     
  13. Flagg37

    Flagg37 Colorado member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    982
    That's a long feed time. My fish are done eating in like 5 mins.
     
  14. Flagg37

    Flagg37 Colorado member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    982
    @Edgar Sandoval I don't know if you realize it or not but your apex firmware should be updated.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2017
  15. Edgar Sandoval

    Edgar Sandoval Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    107
    Is that easy to do?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  16. Flagg37

    Flagg37 Colorado member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    982
    It should be. On the screen that lists all the apex's next to yours there's an arrow instead of a gear. Click it and follow the instructions.
     
  17. Edgar Sandoval

    Edgar Sandoval Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    107
    Gave up. Couldn't update[​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  18. Flagg37

    Flagg37 Colorado member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    982
    That sucks.

    What's up with it saying login successful and then immediately saying it's unsuccessful?
     
  19. rygh

    rygh BOD

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    737
    I had issues also. Not with firmware update, but with web interface.
    Sounds different though.

    From the forums, this worked for me:
    1) Power off Apex
    2) Run update
    It will fail. But do not close tool.
    3) Power on Apex, and wait for it to boot.
    Hit update on the tool again.

    (Check that IP address did not change on reboot though)
     
  20. Flagg37

    Flagg37 Colorado member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    982
    It looks like he got it figured out. The list shows his now up to date.
     

Share This Page