Jestersix

Apex System decisions

Hi there,

Newby speaking, so please bear with me ;) I am just starting out on my first reef system (125G tank/40G sump) and I am not sure what Apex system to get started with. My idea is to select a good system that one get started with a smaller kit, and add on as we go, who has been around for a while (so is not experimental, I am a newly and doubt I could handle dealing with a new system just yet), and offers a mobile or at least web interface.

Right now I am still in the system set up phase (no animals yet), but am ultimately going towards a mixed reef, one fish/coral at a time ;)

Any tips & opinions are welcome :)

If it were me I'd start looking for a good used Apex. The new line is just rolling out and a lot of folks will be selling off their old ones -- which pretty much are just as useful as the new ones -- especially for a newer hobbyist (like you and me.) You should find some bargains -- I did.

This is my generic controller advice, doesn't necessarily apply to JUST the Apex.

First figure out what you want controlled and/or monitored, lights, pumps, feeders, top off, pH, salinity, etc. sky's the limit too with reason, you might not want to have a salinity probe right now, but maybe down the road it is not out of the question, where as some people might say "nah, never going to need a salinity probe".