High Tide Aquatics

Are all aquarium refractometers like this?

My refractometer has trouble holding its calibration. It'll shift by a couple ppt if I accidentally bump it against something in my cramp room, or even after putting it down on the table for a moment. Arghh. I've used lab quality refractometers back when I used to work in a lab and I don't remember them being so fickle. Is my refractometer a POS that needs to be replaced or is this pretty typical quality for aquariums?

I check mine often, but i have rarely needed to calebrate it and it is a simple Marine Depot one that I have had for many years. Sounds like you may have a POS on your hands or your resultes are getting corrupted somehow.

I think my MD is one of those POS. I calibrate it every time I use it. I calibrate it one day and the following day I check the calibration and it's off.

Sounds like I have a POS; it's from Marine Depot. If I'm extremely careful I can get consistent results more often than not, but it's been too frustrating one too many times.

So the next question is, what would you recommend for a non-shitty refractometer? Is the one at Bulk Reef Supply any good?

I have used the MD refractometer for about 4 years now.
Only re-calibrated once. And I do check with distilled water every once in a while.

Ideas:
1) How is it stored? Drafty garage?
Large thermal cycles can throw off calibration on any instrument.

2) Do you clean it after use?
You might build up a thin mineral deposit on the glass, and that
would throw it off, causing all sorts of calibration issues.

rygh said:
Only re-calibrated once. And I do check with distilled water every once in a while.

Ideas:

Do you calibrate with calibration solution or distilled/RO water?

sfboarders said:
rygh said:

Ideas:

Do you calibrate with calibration solution or distilled/RO water?

I calibrated with distilled water.