Chloramine RO/DI

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by JVU, Jul 7, 2017.

  1. RandyC

    RandyC Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    524
    Tested after carbon block before membrane and after DI. Both zero. Here are the sticks from the test.

    [​IMG]
     
    Coral reefer likes this.
  2. Gablami

    Gablami Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    420
    So if I got a chloramine monster, I should put it after the sediment filter before the two carbon blocks? Or after the carbon before the RO? I've got plenty of psi, do not run a booster.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. Coral reefer

    Coral reefer President

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,571
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    I think after carbons before membranes
     
  4. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    346
    You want it after sediment before carbon.
     
    JVU likes this.
  5. Coral reefer

    Coral reefer President

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,571
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Seems like you'd want the cheap carbon block to get what it can first. Any idea why before the carbon block?
     
  6. Gablami

    Gablami Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    420
    Ok did some research. BRS does not specify besides saying "before your RODI." Tkeracer on reefcentral says:

    "The chloramine monster goes before any other carbon block. To do otherwise is a waste of time and money. You aren't protecting it... it is protecting the rest of your system. Putting it last is like having the president on a motorcycle leading the caravan and the secret service riding in the armored cars behind him.

    My setup is....

    .5micron sed > Booster Pump > Chlorplus 20BB (chloramine monster) > Chlorplus 10 >, Chlorplus 10 > .5micron Carbon > RO > RO > DI > DI "




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    346
    That's pretty much how I have mine
     
  8. JVU

    JVU Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    260
    For sure I would put the monster after pre-filter and before the next (finer) carbon block. That's part of why I didn't get it, since I don't have any tubing to splice into at that junction, the first 2 stages are directly connected in my system, though there are tubes connecting all the other stages.

    The other reasons I didn't get it are that it is huge and awkward to fit where I have my RODI, and because it seems like overkill and unnecessary for a home system after getting more feedback from you guys, reading online, and testing my water. That said, I was close to getting it anyway as a hopefully definitive and long-term solution to the chloramine question.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
     
  9. Gablami

    Gablami Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    420
    It certainly is huge...

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. sfsuphysics

    sfsuphysics Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    12,574
    Likes Received:
    963
    Not sure I like that analogy at all with the president, doesn't make much sense. I would thing the Monster is the most important part of your setup, as well as being the most expensive (more so than even the RO membranes), so if it's the most important part. Why would you put that in front of everything? I would rather put the secret service, armored cars and other "more disposable" things in front of it.

    If you swap carbon blocks in front of the monster, then any chloramines that pass through the carbon blocks after all "they're not as effective, blah blah blah" get gobbled up by the monster after. Plus you have the added benefit of the other carbon blocks absorbing other stuff before it gets to the monster, so that the monster can be used for the single purpose of removing chloramines from your system. Plus anything that gets by your sediment filter could get trapped by the cheaper carbon blocks and not prematurely clog up the monster. The way I look at it everything is going to get filtered out regardless of order, so it "protecting your system" seems a bit much, but would you rather replace $10-15 filters more often or would you rather replace a $100+ filter?

    Either way, I would put a flow meter across it to know when you're reaching the point of replacement, also would tee off the output before the RO filter and periodically check the chlorine level with some cheap test strips.

    Lastly, I'm not sure what that guys water quality is from the pipe, but it really is not helping promote that massive filter as a particularly useful one when you have 3 other carbon filters behind it.
     
    Coral reefer and Gablami like this.
  11. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    346
    I need a picture of my dual monster and prefilter
     
  12. Gablami

    Gablami Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    420
    This is helpful. Maybe if the chloramine monster was put after the rodi that analogy would make more sense. But we're basically talking about what order to place the carbon blocks. It's much easier for me to put the chloramine monster after the carbon as opposed to before it...so I might just do it that way.

    Does anyone have a flow meter setup?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. Coral reefer

    Coral reefer President

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,571
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    I had one but it quit working. Crappy wiring. Would like to find an affordable and reliable alternative for sure.
     
  14. sfsuphysics

    sfsuphysics Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    12,574
    Likes Received:
    963
    I bought a flowmeter ages ago, but never set it up unfortunately, double unfortunate is that it's now lost in the piles of garage garbage (ahem stuff for future projects). However if you have an Apex you can get the FMM module, and the 1/4" module that uses John Guest slip fittings can easily plug inline, the 1/4" one is only like $20 (but the FMM is $100 IIRC)
     
  15. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    346
    I have an extra fmm :) see my atk partial for sale ad
     
  16. Gablami

    Gablami Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    420
    Lol for a rodi system? Definitely overkill. You should set it up!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. sfsuphysics

    sfsuphysics Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    12,574
    Likes Received:
    963
    Well if you have a FMM system in general, then spending an extra $20 for a 1/4" flow meter that easily can be spliced between the 1/4" hoses of your system it's not a horrible purchase. But yeah buying a FMM module + the flow meter is a bit overkill.
     

Share This Page