Kessil

Electrical cost of running a reef tank in SF

sfsuphysics

Supporting Member
While this is reef related I thought I'd drop it in here, because it's long, rambling, and mathy.

Recently after talking to a guy over on RDO about moving to SF from NY, I started playing with the idea of installing solar panels on my room, yes even in San Francisco. So I started running numbers, both cost and electricity and came to some interesting conclusions. Now those of you who are hitting $300 a month on your bills then this might not be that much of a surprise but those who have nano tanks and are thinking of a monster setup... could be insightful.

I'll start by keeping things simple, and only count one of my tanks, my 100g stony tank. Over the past few days I've been using my kill-a-watt meter to test various parts of it to get an idea for how much juice it really uses, not wanting to rely on my PG&E bill for a number of reasons... here's one, I don't know how much of that power usage is tank power! So what I came up with with a power usage was.
Heaters (3 - 650 labeled watts total) - 7.62 kWh per day average (granted this can very easily change as it gets colder/warmer)
Lighting (2 - 250W, electronic MH) - 0.51kW x 8hours = 4.08 kWh per day
Pumps (2 vortec, 1 QuietOne4000 return, 1 sedra 5000 on skimmer, 1 rio 600 to keep carbon tumbling) - 168 watts x 24 hours = 4.03 kWh day

And that's all the electrical usage of that tank, granted your mileage might vary depending upon your actual usage. So that adds up to 15.73 kWh per day, and over a 30 day billing period, that translates to 471.9 kWh. Now I'm going to make the big leap and go on the under-estimate side of things and assume that's the only power that I use at all in the whole house, no tv, no lights, no refridgerator, nothing.. and this is a BIG underestimate.

PG&E rates for standard E-1 service (what most people have) are as followed.
Baseline Usage...............$0.11556
101% - 130% of Baseline..$0.13139