Our mission

How sturdy are AGA Aqueon stands?

Hello,

I am new to BAR and am trying to get back into the hobby as I have been stationed in Spain for the past 4 years. I just moved to Suisun City near Travis AFB about 6 months ago and have already gone from a 24 JBJ nano to a 90 bowfront and now (with thanks from craigslist) I am ready to start up a 150.

The water is all ready to go (mixed in the tank), but I am getting nervous with the weight on the stand that came with the tank. It is a mission style AGA Aqueon stand that was brand new; but looking at the build (laminated wood and not the best construction) it seems a lot of weight for such a skimpy stand. I believe the weight of water and tank is in the 1800 lb area and plan on adding 200 lbs of sand and at leadt that in rock. Should I look for another stand or trust this one? The tank doesn't budge for right now and is perfectly level. I would hate to be under the tank working on the sump and it decides to give way (death I am sure). It is one of those things that you don't get any warning before the structure decides to fail.

I am thinking of having a stand and top built instead but hate to cough up the 1500 smackers for it (wife won't have just a 2X4 frame or cinder blocks in living room). that I can spend on lighting or corals. Please give any feedback on this subject; especially if you have one or know someone that does. Thanks

Cheapest would be to simply make the AGA stand stronger.
Add a set of 2x4's, or cut up 3/4 ply, to create an internal strengthening framework.
Takes up a bit of room for your sump, but gives peace of mind.
Much easier to do BEFORE you have water in it.
Make sure you think about sump/equipment placement during the design.

Not a bad idea to be paranoid, here in earthquake country.