High Tide Aquatics

Lawrence’s 120 Gallon SPS Dominated Reef Aquarium

Hello! My name is Lawrence and I live in San Francisco. I am currently a college student as an Environmental Science major. I’ve always loved animals, but there’s something fascinating and mysterious about these ancient relics we desperately try to keep alive in our home aquariums. Researching and understanding more about them has only increased my interest in marine biology and reefing. I started this hobby with a 14g biocube I bought from a friend. During my time with that nano cube, I researched endless hours until I was comfortable enough with my own knowledge and ability to start a bigger system focusing mainly on pretty sticks and LPS to fill the lower void of my rockwork. This will be a journal of my aquarium and I will try to update with photos powered by my iPhone 5. Happy reefing and follow along! Comments, questions, criticism all welcome!

Running for 9 months

Display Tank: 120g (48in x 24in x 24in), Dual Overflows, Deep Sand Bed

Display Lighting: Coralife Elite Ballast 2x 250w 20K Metal Halides, 2 PC Actinics, 48” 453nm Blue LED Strip, 48" Magenta/12k White LED Strip

Sump: 55g Acrylic, Refugium w/ Deep Sand Bed and Macroalgae

Dosing: KNOP Calcium Reactor and ESV B-ionic 2 Part to tweak

Water Circulation: 2x Jebao WP40, External Return Pump

Filtration: SWC 180 Protein Skimmer, GFO Reactor, Filter Socks, GAC

DIY Auto Top Off

Eheim Heater

Vodka Dosing

Lugol's Solution: 1 drop per day

Most Recent Aquarium Parameters:
Salinity: 1.025
Nitrates: 0.25 ppm
Phosphates: 0.07 ppm
Calcium: 480 ppm
Alkalinity: 9.1
Temperature: 78 F

Livestock:

Yellow Tang

Blue Hippo Tang

(2) Snowflake Clowns

Solar Fairy Wrasse

Pearly Jawfish

Midas Blenny

Royal Gramma

Firefish

Squareback Anthia (f)

Spotted Mandarin

Lots of SPS frags

Some LPS

still looking to fill up a lot of space!
Let me know what you think!

FTS(I will turn off the blue led strip next time, it drowns the photo):
image.jpeg