got ethical husbandry?

My "Lazy Reefer" tank

Well, the tank is settling in now, and I've run out of excuses for not posting about it. So here goes:

I've been keeping reef tanks for over 6 years now, working my way up from a 3g nano up through various sizes, and eventually to my last tank, a 200g sps-dominated reef. I found out in February that I'd be moving from San Diego to the bay area. By this point, I'd had my fill of huge, high-maintenance tanks, so I sold off the bulk of my hard-won collection, tore down the tank, and begged tank space from my friends to store all the fish/corals I couldn't part with while I moved and got the new tank set up.

In order to be able to get the tank set up as quickly as possible, I ordered it before even having a new place to live lined up, so it was a matter of picking the dimensions I wanted to see in a tank, and just hoping it'd fit in our new house! The goal with the new tank was to make sure the maintenance didn't get out of control. To do that, it had to be too small to house certain critters, or certain combinations of critters. I eventually decided on a 42x28x20 starphire peninsula tank from LeeMar. Keeping it under 4' means that it can house only a few, small fish. It's not very tall, so the rockwork can't be too elaborate. The width allowed for two different viewing panels, with quite different perspectives into the little glass box.