Jestersix

Need Advice

So may pay review was very favourable ;D so I am on the hunt for my new toy.

I am definately getting the Nikon D40X but not 100% sure which lens combination to get - I am a complete newbie to DSLR ...

There are two possibilities I have seen, both running ~ $1,000.

• [li]18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G[/li]
    [li]18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G + 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6G[/li]

I am leaning toward the first option, simply so I am not having to mess with changing lenses etc. but then again I really don't appreciate the differences. And I know that the 55-200 is not with stabilization (the VR?) but I do have somewhat of a budget!

Thanks for any help / advice.
Dave

Between those two, the 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G.

1) Lighter than the other two combined
2) Easier to use, no lens changes
3) Better optically - 2 ED and 2 aspherical elements (helps w/distortions)
VS. 18-55mm - 1 ED and 1 aspherical element
VS. 55-200mm - 1 ED element

There is also the 3rd option: 18-200mm VR (2 ED and 3 aspherical elements; 50% heavier than the 18-135mm).

Or go w/my kit if you have a decent budget to work with:

17-55mm f/2.8 AFS (3 ED and 3 aspherical elements)
70-200mm f/2.8 AFS VR (5 ED elements)

Whatever you decide with, just make sure that you go with either a AFS or AFI lens, otherwise you lose autofocus!

I like eric's kit, though it's a bit hefty of a budget. I've wanted that combo but alas not enough funds.

My 18-200mm (which I know Rich has also ordered) optically is great! Enough for me at least, and lens changes only occur when I want to switch to my super wide 12mm / 10.5mm / macro or other specialty lens. Otherwise walking around 18-200 wins!

I know the 18-200 can be had for ~$800 these days, and would be far better than the 18-135 in my opinion. The 18-135 has a few small issues, including it's plastic vs. metal mount.

I was trying to keep the whole purchase to around $1000, but if I get the 18-200 VR then it's way blown!