Cali Kid Corals

New to BAR, and new to the Bay Area...

Hello all,
I'm new to BAR, and new to the Bay Area in general. I come from the frigid cold Canadian Prairies, and have been into reef aquaria since 2005.

From 2005-2009 I ran a 140g mixed reef aquarium with a reasonable amount of success.
IMG_4061.JPG

At that point, graduate studies and an active 2 year old meant that I just didn't have the time to keep the tank up, and I sold everything off.
From 2009 until the end of 2013 I have played around with mixed success with a Solana 34g. Just prior to leaving Winnipeg in December, I was in the process of taking another effort at getting the Solana where I really wanted it, but fate had it that I got a job in the Bay Area. I sold off the Solana for a decent price as it wasn't exactly an easy thing to relocate....

In contrast to before where my family and I lived in a 3 bedroom house, we're now in a spacious 2 bedroom apartment.

Now that I'm here, and starting to get settled in, it's time to think about my next tank. Unfortunately, my leasing company doesn't allow tanks bigger than 10g in the apartment. HOWEVER, I am on the main floor, and have a huge cement patio.... I've already got thoughts running through my head of how I could set up a 50-90g tank on the patio.

Anyway, that's my story! I did manage to bring along a big rubbermaid tote with a load of powerheads, some Tunze Streams, and a couple larger tanks from my old tank. I'm hoping some of these items can be traded/sold now that I'm in an area where there may actually be a market for them. Heh.

Tyler

Welcome.

Yes the weather is a little different than Winnipeg! Depending on where you live in the BA, an outside tank might be possible. You might also see if taking out extra insurance might expand the indoor tank limits.

Just the three words, 'Winnipeg in December', gave me the chills! :)