Neptune Aquatics

Newbie Nano Tank

Hello Everyone, I'm new to the hobby and just setting up a 12 gallon Nano reef tank. Its currently cycling and don't plan to add anything for at least three weeks. . I'm very excited and very nervous (I REALLY don't want to accidentally kill anything). I already splurged (oops >,<) and accidentally bought 3 coral (a torch, favia and acan) which are currently living in my boyfriends 40 gallon. I'm hoping that they will be happy in my small tank with low flow and crappy fluorescent lighting (which likely won't change until at least Christmas). Eventually I'd like to add mushrooms (not sure what kind yet), zoas and 1 to 2 fish (although I'm not really even thinking about that for at least 6 months) as well as sea cucumber although again not for a long while. In the meantime, as my tank cycles, I'm gonna try to add a fan. I'm also planning on getting one or two more pieces of live rock and adding sand soon.
IMG_9081.jpg IMG_9082.jpg IMG_9077.jpg

Wow that torch is beautiful! Where didja pick it up? It's gonna look nice in your nano. I see you went barebottom too..it looks really clean!

You will find lots of helpful aquarists here at BAR. I've not been here very long at all myself, and have been pleasantly surprised with the amount of supportive and friendliness of BAR members. You'll find the same too. Oh.. And welcome!

I am concerned with a few things. If your tank has already started it cycle, anything you add after the fact may prolong the cycle. Adding more LR (live rock) and sand (either dry or live) can add more time to the cycle or if the tank cycles before you add it can cause a whole new cycle or mini cycle depending on where the rock and sand comes from and in what form.