Jestersix

Raccoon Butterfly sick

Hi guys
I am kinda new to hobby and few days ago I bought a Raccoon butterfly which was eating well for first few days and swim normally. Now he is just opening closing his mouth rapidly and do not swim that much and does not eat food. Any clue? Is he sick? I put his picture here as well. Is it ich?

Thank you very much I will be really appreciated your opinions.

Your pic is not showing up for me for some reason.

I had a tomini tang that did that in QT. Eat very well for almost 2 weeks, and then start gasping one day (checked and ruled out ammonia). Unfortunately it didn't make it. No visible sign of sickness on body.

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Before coming to work I saw him struggling and floating, and it was sad I could not do anything. I think he will not make it by the time I come back home.
I wish I could understand the reason and find any symptom to avoid. Do not know why picture does not show up. I uploaded again.
Please take a look.

Attachments

• Untitled4.png
    Untitled4.png
    509.8 KB · Views: 229
How did you do acclimation?

I'm assuming you did not treat for parasites or disease?

What other fish do you have in it?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Unfortunately I don't have the guarantee tank. So just left the bag on top of water for couple of hours for temperature adaptation and then introduced him.
Everything happened so fast that I could not find do parasite treatment.
I have few clown, one yellow tang and dog face puffer.

It is really salinity issue? Since it was ok the first few days? I do freshwater dip post drip acclimation before introduction which probably even harder on them.

Going lower in salinity is much much better than going higher. I can introduce a fish if the water they are going into is lower that what they are in right now. If the new water is higher than 0.01sg, I will drip acclimate till it's matched.