Jestersix

Red bugs - the saga begins

cwolfus

Past President
I'm posting this to help out the newbies, but comments by all are welcome.

I've been growing SPS for about 2 years now with mixed results... over that time I have gotten better at maintaining ALk, CA, and SG at levels that keep most animals happy. While I don't have a Qt I always use TP on frags before the enter my tank.

And so it begins... a few weeks ago I brought some frags for a friend. After watching them in QT for a few days, the friend casually mentioned..."you might want to look for RB". While I never did actually see RB I trust this friend and it explains why some SPS have shown much less PE (polyp extension) than others. So I did some research and have just begun treating for RED BUGS.

Here are the instructions I acquired:

1 pill treats 380g total water vol (include water in sump, subtract watter displaced by sand and rock)
Turn off air to skimmer; remove carbon; remove crabs, shrimp, and hermits; and add 1 dose to tank and let sit for 4-6 hours
After 6-8 hrs do a 25% water change and run carbon
Repeat in 7 and 14 days
Once complete, reseed tank with tiger pods (thanks for giving those out at the last meeting, Gresh)

Late this morning i fished out what I could find of hermits and my Harlequin Shrimp.
Today at 1pm I took 1/4 of a crushed pill, mixed with DI and added to my 70g tank. (My sump is offline so this is about 2x recommended dose which should be fine). Tonight between 7-9 I will do a 15g water change and add carbon.

Treatment should be done before the end of the year and frags should be ready for the upcoming swap.

I'll let you know how it goes.

C

I thought the lastest info said no need to repeat because red bugs don't lay eggs?

I've seen recommendations for 12 hour treatment, and that longer is better.

1x-10x original dosage levels can work.

Cool!

I missed the no repeat needed, but that is definitely preferable! :D