High Tide Aquatics

Sand bed

I have been thinking of siphoning about 1.5 inches of sand from my aquarium. Right now at the deepest it's around 3.25 inches what are your opinions on this matter
84e1dcff1ea2db3288fc333ebc3c5254.jpg

Take this reply with a grain of salt, since I am a noob, but I was reading that you want ~.5 in of sand for a ssb, or ~4-5 in of sand for a dsb. Something about needing anaerobic pockets for denitrification, and anywhere in between just collects lots of detritus. Hopefully we can get some pros personal opinions, because the chemistry of the sand bed really intrigues me, but it is confusing as well

Sand is a personal choice, if you siphon a little less than half of it, then great... if YOU like it. It's already not deep enough to really get much in the way of anaerobic areas. Right now it's basically surface area for bacteria to live and critters to crawl in.

Personally I think it looks fine as is, but again sand is a personal choice.

I've always been a fan of sand. Mike is right it's a personal decision to keep or not. Some wrasses need it if you ever go that route.

Yeah I'm going to keep it how it is. I will eventually be getting some type of fairy wrasse and more sand sifting snails. Thanks guys for the input. Do you guys suggest sifting the sand during water changes ?

Given the "in between" depth, I would suggest gently siphoning and sifting a bit, yes.
But sudden massive stirring of that sand bed could be very bad.

PS: I rather like the look of yours.
Shallow send beds looks a bit flat and boring. (Mine does. I may add sand)

Yes, I like the way it is too. Mine is just about 1 inch, and it looks pretty flat. I've been thinking about adding more as well; have some lying around that I didn't place initially. Also with the two MP40s on each side, the center sand is getting blown away. I have "#3" sand, might need to go a bit bigger in the center.

Fairy wrasse (Cirrhilabrus spp.) do not need sand.