High Tide Aquatics

Selven's 40 gal aquatop AIO (rebuilt)

vissen319

Supporting Member
Hi all,

I had the great pleasure of personally meeting some of you (here and there while buying stuff). I am relatively new to the hobby, and did not have a tank journal. I am bad at documentation but here are some updates/background story.

My wife and I had planted tanks back when we lived in Singapore (probably about 3 or 4 planted tanks (10 to 55 g) with discus, apistos etc). Freshwater tank is a big hobby in Asia. I have yet to see a 24 hr fish shop here.

We always wanted a saltwater tank but it was out of our means and required too much time commitment as grad students. My wife was and still is more involved than me with the tanks. She did all the planting, choice of plants, landscape, and all the photography (another of her hobby). I did all the hardware/setup and water changes. I always had a fish tank since I was a kid. So, it is not unfamiliar to me either. I am lucky that my wife appreciates the hobby as much as I do. Here are some random pics that she took when we first setting those up. Freshwater planted tanks are tough to keep clean.

IMG_0593.jpg

a cool shot of a freshwater shrimp

IMG_0499.jpg

Fast track to here, I managed to get a good bargain on an Aquatop 40 gal last year. It is not a high end tank but a decent beginner tank. So we finally managed to get our hands on a saltwater tank. I am an island native. So, it is even more exciting for me.

Here are some pics when i first got it late last year. I purchased some florida live rock to put in it.

We did not spend much time on it. We had a massive algae boom, and my wife and I both dropped the ball due to other commitment etc. I had a couple of frags in it which did not make it due to infrequent water changes etc. We took care of the livestock and all of them did well.