Jestersix

Brad's unexpected upgrades

bp123987

Supporting Member
Greetings fellow reefers!

Wanted to finally post up a build thread. I joined BAR a few months ago. I've been keeping aquariums for about 25 years, since i was in middle school. Started of course with freshwater community, then african cichlids, then a reef tank while in high school. Had a 50g reef and 125 FOWLER in college in early 2000's. Then out of the hobby for a few years while working and moving around, then when settled down had a ~20g reef for a few years, then "downsized" to a freshwater 60g corner with an awesome flowerhorn.

Fast forward to living in san francisco about 5 years ago resurrected the 60g corner with a flowerhorn. The new guy had HLEE forever, and after spending a fortune trying to cure him, donated him to the store and switched tank to african cichlids. That tank was very successful, even had spawning and an offspring that somehow lived to be an inch long until i broke the tank down and sold the fish off.

In the interim the saltwater bug bit hard again and i convinced my wife to get a innovative marine nuvo 10 AIO with an anemone and clown. This tank has been up and running almost 2 years now and been very successful - biggest issue was a bout of dino, which was eventually beaten by removing the cool AWC system i had built and using UV for a while. That tank is still up and running.

Eventually also convinced wife to set up a "big" tank - a 75g innovative marine 75int. The plan was for it to be a FOWLR, but i got the but and it became a reef. It's done quite well, was set up about 1.5 years ago (6 months after the im10)