Neptune Aquatics

Hello from Santa Rosa

Hello there,

My name is Colin, I work in the financial industry here in Santa Rosa, about an hour north of San Francisco.

I've been keeping a reef of one form or another for the past ten years. I've never joined any clubs or known anyone in person who keeps a reef for that matter. It'd be kinda nice to change that.

Anyway, I currently only have a 5 gallon Fluval Spec V. No filtration other than the stock sponge, slightly upgraded LED lighting, and a tiny Marineland heater in the overflow. This tank really is about as simple as I could possibly imagine.

This system is about a year old. I only recently started to stock it with coral because I wanted to make sure the system could be stable, but also because I had other financial priorities. The tank is mostly LPS, Zoas, and various mushrooms. Everything is fairly new to the system, so there isn't much growth yet. The only exception is the hammer coral, which is a frag from a colony that I have had with me for nearly the full tenure of my reefing experience.There is also a clam that I received from my wife about a month ago for my birthday, but I have no idea if it will survive or not.

Glad to be here! Thank you for looking!

Here are a couple pics: FTS and some of the inhabitants... nothing extremely special.
4.jpg

1.jpg

3.jpg

Attachments

• 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    39.9 KB · Views: 279
Last edited:
Welcome! Your pictures are very sharp! What are you taking pictures with?

BAR is definitely the largest reef club in the san francisco bay area and you are totally welcome to join our events and participate in our free forum.

Id also like to let you know about the Wine Country Reefers. They are a smaller reef club in your area. I think they host events near Santa Rosa. Its common for them to travel down here and attend our events. @aqua-nut

Here is their forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=393