Our mission

Hello from Stockton

Just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Stephen and live in Stockton CA out in the country. Just started my reef tank back in December and just added my first coral last Saturday. I am currently on R2R to help with my research about salt water aquariums. I found you guys on R2R and thought it would be a good idea to join BAR in order to get to know the local reefers.

Welcome!!! I'm pretty sure we have a couple members out your way. You might consider becoming a supporting member. That has been the best investment I've made into this hobby so far. You'll get access to the buy/sell/trade forums and you can participate in our amazing dbtc program.

I want to know too! Half of us are professional nerds, and the rest nerds by association.
I am also a professional nerd being an engineer at Microchip Inc.

Back in the 90's I had a reef setup in a 90 gallon display tank. Went on vacation and lost everything because the tank overheated even though I had a room AC and 1/4hp chiller. The Metal Halide lighting was just too hot and I swore to never have another reef setup until LED lighting was perfected. Needless to say I work for a company that produces LED drivers and knowing how far LED lighting has come decided this year was the year to get back to having the reef setup I Love so much.