Kessil

Hobby Costs; Can they be lower?

Blaise006

Supporting Member
The problem with the costs of Reefkeeping.

Specially in California, we see the impacts to our wallets on all fronts. Utilities, shipping, inflation, etc. I am writing this because I feel I have seen a large increase in posts about it, probably just recency bias honestly. So I wanted to pose the question, what are most of the things we commonly buy worth and is a business viable at lower prices?

A bit of background on me: I have been working in the financial field for 9 years, but only as an analyst for three of them. I am a member of the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute, an education program for financial professionals. I spent the majority of my career working in structured products like interest rate swaps, credit default swaps, and various other financial instruments.

Do people view the industry as having excessive margins? Are costs assumed to be lower by the public then they actually are, or vice versa?

I am on the paying end of this as are most individuals here and would love to have my money go a bit further with stuff in the hobby, but I know there are very few flourishing establishments at current prices, and the successful ones tend to have monopolistic traits. I believe the answer is a mixed bag, but I am curious to see who might have an opinion on this. High margins should attract competition, but that’s easier said than done, specially in small niches.

If I could I would love to go over the balance sheet and income statement on some of the firms in our hobby, but I doubt I’ll be seeing them listed on the major exchanges anytime soon.