Jestersix

How do I keep nitrates and phosphates UP?

dochou

Supporting Member
I've been dosing disodium phosphate and sodium nitrate to my 150 gal mixed reef tank with 8 small fish. I run a calcium reactor to keep CA and Alk up.
I have a reef octopus protien skimmer and no GFO or phosphate reducer. I do not have any macro algea in the refuge; I only have some live rock in there.
I've been dosing every other day for the past 6 months. I thought that after a couple months, I would not need to dose any more, but this is not the case.
Prior to dosing, I tried heavy feeding and reduced skimming but that didn't help any because the readings were still zero and zero.
The reason I wanted to raise these 2 parameters was to color up my SPS. The sps had horrible dull coloration. After dosig the colors hav much improved over time.

So my question is: am I stuck dosing Nitrate and Phosphate forever???

pH:8.2
Phosphate .02 to .06 when dosing every other day; otherwise it's 0.
Nitrate: .2 to 2.5 when dosing every other day. otherwise it's also 0
Alkalinity: 8.0
Cal: 465
Mg: 1250

Thanks.

Food. Feed lots of food. Not junk food, but high nutrition food. Red Sea AB+ and acropower (notice and not or) Reef Nutrition Oyster feast, and high quality frozen food like Rods of Reef Frenzy.

If you feed your fish pellet food from an auto feeder daily you get some phosphate from that as well. I feed Reef Nutrition Tdo pellets anywhere from 1-4 times a day. It just depends on my weekly po4 readings.

Nitrates “should“ stabilize after a while.

If your running a Fuge, then either turn it off or significantly reduce the lighting schedule. I completely removed all means of nutrient removal except my gfo reactor.

Rostato gave great advice. One thing I noticed is that your bioload seems low for your tank size. You can try getting more fish. Youll end up feeding more and that equals more fish poop. Fish poop is the best coral food.

Last edited: