got ethical husbandry?

Intermediate Reefer New to Forum

Hello BAreefers!

My name is Preston, and I've been a reefer for about a year and a half or so. I'm currently a student at UC Berkeley studying Public Health.

I had a 15 gallon long set up with about 25-30 heads of frogspawn, various common/intermediate zoas and some mushrooms.
Livestock included 2 extra dark true percs, four sexy shrimp that were breeding, a cleaner shrimp, and a pellet trained mandarin goby.
Pretty low tech setup, I was running 4x24w t5hos, a HOB filter for flow, and a koralia nano. Nothing special... 30% water changes every 2 weeks in slow, small increments. I had an JBJ ATO, but it didn't work very well, so I ended up usually manually adding RO water after a few floods. (All equipment was low/medium tech in accordance with my low student budget.)

Unfortunately, during winter break the HOB filter overflowed, spilling a gallon or so of water onto the floor until the whole thing short circuited. I came back and it was quite the disaster, nothing survived because all the equipment was short circuited except for the lights.

I came here looking for help via a recommendation from a SFBAAPS member (I'm mostly a planted freshwater guy).
I was gonna discontinue saltwater because I was so discouraged after this crash (both emotionally and financially). What should I do?

-Preston

If you'd rather set up something with a sump is be happy to help. I assume your tank is glass, which can be drilled, although acrylic is much easier to drill. I may have a similar sized acrylic tank you could have and then you could use your 15 g as a sump. That way HOB can't fail you again

Welcome!

You might want to go a little bit bigger, and try to set up a system with a sump and a skimmer.
Small systems can be so touchy. A bit larger is actually easier.
Sumps make life way easier.
Skimmers remove a lot of crud, reducing reliance on water changes.
But skimmers are noisy. Not sure if you are in a dorm room.