Neptune Aquatics

New member, building a coldwater marine aquarium

I am a new member, happy to be here. I have been keeping fish since childhood and keeping reef tanks, off and on, for about 10 years. I currently have a Fluval 13.5 nano reef with a simple assortment of soft coral and LPS. In addition, I am a teacher and keep a 40-gallon low tech planted tank in my classroom.

My main project now is building a cold water marine aquarium. It's something I've been interested in for a few years, and I've been seriously researching and planning for a could months. I am fascinated by the temperate/cold water sea life nearby off the pacific coast, and like the challenge of setting up this kind of system.

I think it would be an interesting challenge for anyone, and in particular for me because the methods for cold water are diametrically opposed to my usual reefing philosophy for tropical. For tropical reef tanks- actually for any system, including freshwater, I like to minimize complicated equipment + mechanical filtration, and let the bacteria and plants do the work for me. I favor plenty of habitat for aerobic and anaerobic bacteria, and plenty of flow. In freshwater this means I always do planted tanks, and in saltwater this means a big and well-lit fuge and no skimmer. On the other hand, with this new project, biological processes happen slower in a coldwater tank, so mechanical filtration and skimming are more important.