Our mission

New reefer

Hello!

My name is Natalie and I'm new to reefing and Mountain View! Recently, I've been working on a 10g nano reef. I understand it will likely be a difficult starter, but I didn't want to wait any longer and this is what I can do. I'd also like to think I'm being realistic with tank plans of "hardy" life.

I recently finished my cycle, and I'm moving into the stocking phase. I am currently the proud owner of a cleaner shrimp and a healthy diatom bloom - for which I'm hoping I'll be able to pick up some CUC this afternoon.

Other than that, any words of advice or encouragement are welcome! [emoji4]

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

Welcome! The diatom blooms and algae blooms are part of any new tank, whether it be 10g or 100g. The big thing is to make sure you don't get impatient and try to do things too quickly. :).

What are you using for equipment? One of the best investments you can make is an automatic top off.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Welcome! The diatom blooms and algae blooms are part of any new tank, whether it be 10g or 100g. The big thing is to make sure you don't get impatient and try to do things too quickly. :).

What are you using for equipment? One of the best investments you can make is an automatic top off.

Thanks!

As far as equipment goes, I'm running a penguin 200 powerfilter w/purigen and chemipure elite, current USA orbit LED fixture, a basic Powerhead and heater, and a DIY gravity powered ATO (aka the fanciest way I know of saying an upside water bottle). I have 10 lbs of live sand and 11 lbs of live rock

I noticed a lot of evap throughout the cycle, so I added a glass top in the hopes of keeping that loss and subsequent swings a little more manageable.

Well I don't have a whole lot of experience with nanos, but some words of advice.