Our mission

newbie here! need help fast( getting back into the hobby!)

Hello All!
I've been out of the aquarium scene for quite some time,
I have purchased a 180 gallon well established reef set up. some of the items are 17 years old.
I don't want to lose the livestock in the tank.
should I
A. go buy a newer tank set it up with 40% new salt water and new live sand and transfer most of the established water from the old tank? Hopefully the live stock won't go into shock after the 45min drive.
B. take the risk break the original tank down and put the livestock into big storage buckets/ big wine buckets until the original tank is set up. ( that's moving them twice)
C. find a aquarium maintenance service on this forum and pay them to do the work and move it correctly.

definitely excited to get on the forums and get involved.

Thanks Tut...

I would buy the new tank and add as much as the old water and rock as possible. New sand is a must if the old sand is 17 years old. Asking for trouble if you use the old sand.

Corals will be fine as long as water temperature doesnt get too cold. Acclimation may be a good idea if the corals are in unheated buckets too long

Here’s the problem. Your gonna be at 2000-2500 depending on a few factors of weight. So if you don’t put it over a support beam. The aquarium over time will make the floor sag. Maybe a new construction building can handle more.