Jestersix

Original Steinhart Building

Kensington Reefer

Supporting Member
I unearthed these relics the other day…
Many fond memories there of all the South American cichlids at full size.

Attachments

• 45EA6C14-5EB8-4BAB-9F42-5BBDC85EFF10.jpeg
    45EA6C14-5EB8-4BAB-9F42-5BBDC85EFF10.jpeg
    90.4 KB · Views: 149
  • FB710DAF-B00C-4402-843B-849E70E581C7.jpeg
    FB710DAF-B00C-4402-843B-849E70E581C7.jpeg
    86.3 KB · Views: 159
Reminds me we need to get down to visit Steinhart before the crazy combo flu/Covid season starts and they have a chance to close again.

I unearthed these relics the other day…
Many fond memories there of all the South American cichlids at full size.
Awesome! I worked as a biologist at the old location for four years, best job I ever had and had the opportunity to collect native fish in the Russian River with Frank a couple times. Really loved that place and the old building was really unique and had a lot of charm.

Man that brings up nostalgia memories for me. While the new aquarium is light years beyond what the old "aquarium" area was, I do kind of miss the old lay out, the hall of gems was a permanent piece and not just a rolling exhibit, the space area felt all spacey and dark and while you can argue the new planetarium is way better it's more of an iMAX theater than a true planetarium anyways. Don't get me wrong, there definitely are benefits to the new place, but still have a sense of nostalgia for the old since it seemed every year we'd have a field trip for school there :D

Seeing the "Swamp" exhibit as a young kid was unreal. I can still hear my grandma telling me to stop leaning so far over the railing.