got ethical husbandry?

Pico 5-Gallon

This is my first time dipping into saltwater tanks and I have decided to ignore the overwhelming sentiment after much research and jump in with a pico 5-gallon tank.

It is my understanding that this will be exceedingly more difficult than even a nano 20-gallon tank and even if successful in the short term, it will likely not do well long term. That being said, I hope that with the experience of other reefers combined with my persistence that this build is relatively successful. I hope to gain the hands-on understanding necessary for long-term coral keeping. After a year or two with this tank I will decide if I want to continue in the hobby and at that time get a larger setup.

I prefer the look of smaller tanks both freshwater and saltwater because they can look stocked sooner and look better when less stocked. When I started considering what kind of saltwater tank I wanted, this was at the forefront of my mind. Looking into it further, I valued the amount of content online specifically related to Spec V builds and the breadth of DIY/alternative hardware options for it. I didn't plan on jumping in so soon and but I found cheap Spec V on Craigslist and couldn't say no.

The Setup:
Spec V
MJ606 pump
Random Flow Generator Return
3D printed media basket
Orbit Marine IC Light with Loop Control
Hydro Theo 50W heater
Float based ATO with 1L water bottle
5(ish) lbs dry rock
Live sand

Stocking goals for the tank:
5-6 coral - probably mostly softies and LPS although I do like the encrusting SPS varieties. Really I just want whatever is going to be happy and healthy in the tank

The Cycle:
--All measurements were taken using color compare API equipment. I know this is woefully unprecise however, I don't have the funds to get Hana checkers at the moment so I figure at least it gives me a general idea about the status of the tank --
Temp has been 80 degrees F throughout the process (with some fluctuations of less than 1 degree)