Cali Kid Corals

Should Neptune's 2 TDS water worry me?

Hi all, I had my buddy grab a 200G water card at Neptune for his first reef build. I'm a noob when it comes to RODI but I know Sunnyvale uses chloramines and is in the 300-400 TDS range so I plan to pickup a BRS 7 stage system in a few months.

The employee at Neptune checked their TDS meter for me and said it was running at 2 TDS. BRS says that any TDS is bad because it is pollutants breaking through.

Should we discontinue using Neptune's water? Or is it nothing to worry about?

Last edited:
I have no experience with Neptune’s water. But I wouldn’t use or trust any supposedly RODI water that has 2 TDS unless they also have some rock-solid explanation. Even then I wouldn’t use it.

It’s not that 2 TDS is inherently bad. It could be just sodium chloride, in which case that amount is completely insignificant. The point is that it means something unknown is in water that isn’t supposed to have anything in it, which is suspect.

I have no experience with Neptune’s water. But I wouldn’t use or trust any supposedly RODI water that has 2 TDS unless they also have some rock-solid explanation. Even then I wouldn’t use it.

It’s not that 2 TDS is inherently bad. It could be just sodium chloride, in which case that amount is completely insignificant. The point is that it means something unknown is in water that isn’t supposed to have anything in it, which is suspect.
I only have a TDS meter from my ZeroWater home water pitcher so I doubt I could test it accurately. I'm just going off of their in-line meter. Their explanation was "we use it on all our tanks and our fish and corals are fine. Look around you".
Thank you for bolstering my suspicions.

Isn't Neptune a BAR Sponsor? Could they explain?

Last edited:
I’m not 100% sure. But I remember a long time ago. Someone told me that it comes out zero but if it sits it goes up a little. Cuz water collects stuff. A quick google search would probably be best.