got ethical husbandry?

Wassup?! Noob here!!!

swk

Hi everyone!

My name is Sean and I've been a dedicated tanganyikan cichlid fish nerd for the last 10+ years. Aside from a brief period of keeping madagascan fish, I have been dedicated to the tanganyikan cichlids of the genus tropheus, petrochromis, cyathopharnyx and cyprichromis. I have kept and am currently keeping a few different types as well, but those fish have always been my main passion. They breed for me constantly, for which I am very grateful, and I usually have the aforementioned fish for sale on craigslist and elsewhere. I am a mod at a few tanganyikan focused forums and am pretty active in that side of the FW scene.

I've never done salt and for years never really had any desire too, until lately..... I feel like I've kinda gone as far as I can with delicate FW fish and am looking for a new skill set, and scope of knowledge to keep me moving forward in my aquarium hobby. I've become quite fascinated and have been reading NON-STOP at the bigger, national forums. As a bay area resident I was thrilled to discover this community and am looking forward to meeting some of y'all and learning from you all.

I've been fascinated by the advances in carbon dosing and have been reading quite a bit about that! My initial plan is to buy a 40B for a DT, drill it, and run either a 20 or 20L sump. Anyone have input as to which is better as a sump? My only concern with the 20L is will it be deep enough to run a in-sump skimmer???

Thanks again!

Cool! Thanks for the prompt response! I'll stop by petco and get the 2 tanks today since the $1 per gallon sale is going on. All my large tanks are acrylic, but I think I can handle a small glass tank....I guess. Can't beat the price. So I gather I should start a new thread for equipment questions elsewhere, correct?

Welcome!

I initially started a plan with a 20L display, then it quickly moved to a 40B display with 20L sump-fuge, and now it's an Elos 120. :)