Kessil

FAQ: How to shoot macro (All Cameras)

kinetic

Supporting Member
Part of moderating the forum, I hope I can provide some nice FAQ answers. I am no professional, but I take a lot of time researching my findings, and with a little experimenting can try to contribute as much as possible to this forum.

My first FAQ will be "How to shoot macro". I will include SLR and point and shoot information here.

[size=16pt]What is Macro?[/size]
Macro is a term used to describe "life-size magnification". When we think of micro, we think of tiny things, while macro are larger things. This is sort of counter intuitive with photography. We're taking pictures of small things with macro lenses right? So it should be called micro? Not really. What we are trying to do, is take a picture of an object, such that when it appears on our computers or film, it is exactly the same size as it is in real life. In essence we're capturing detail as if we were looking at an object with our own eyes! So pretend you put a paly frag right up to your eyeball (which is TOTALLY what you should NEVER do because they may have palytoxin, thus use a macro lens =), those with good sight still will see all the tiny details of the paly. That is 1:1 magnification from our eyes. So it's actually making the photo larger, life size, thus macro. Nikon calls macro, micro sometimes, cuz they're goofy. That's the only explanation I have for that =P Ok let's get on with it.

[size=16pt]Myths[/size]
I need a SUPER camera with SUPER lenses! It will cost me THOUSANDS! - This is totally wrong. No camera can realistically ever get perfect detail of a 1:1 magnifcation of an object. No matter how good. There are a handful of very good methods of getting macro or near macro shots for a couple hundred dollars. Then there are ways to get the best detail and the best macro with even a 4:1 magnification (more than life-size).

... more myths added soon.

[size=16pt]Equipment[/size]