Jestersix

New here, intro and question...Any local fish stores take trades?

Short story...I need to know if any LFS takes fish on trade. I have a mated pair of Clarkii Clowns that eat any and everything, and host anemones.

Long story...

Hi all. New here. I had been keeping reefs for many years, and took a break due for a few years when I moved out here.

I recently decided to get back in the hobby and bought a 2 year old Red Sea Reefer 250 from someone on Craigslist that was a fully set up reef with solid equipment. The guy I bought it from was moving and lost most of the color from his SPS but it otherwise looked healthy so I took everything home and re-set it up. No losses or cycle or anything...I’m a bit proud of myself for that.

Anyhoo the reason he had issue was his refractometers calibration was way off..like .005 off. So his salinity was 1.031. It took a few weeks but things are stable and slowly looking much better.

So, my question...do any local stores like Neptune, or Aquarium Collection takes trades? I have to re-home a mated pair of Clarkii Clowns. The guy I bought the tank from had these guys and a pair of either perculas or occilaris clowns. They were getting along fine until I added a second BTA to the tank...the other clowns had a nem on the left side of the tank and the Clarkii’s would just stay on the right. So, big brain on me; I get a nem for the Clarkii’s thinking it’ll be even better and I was very wrong. As soon as that other nem was in the tank the perc female started berrading the Clarkii male.

Long story short I’ve caught both Clarkii’s and they are happy in my sump waiting for a new home. Let me know if any store take trades. I’ll also probably post in the trade area. I’m a firm believer in trading between other hobbyists and not price gouging each other.