Neptune Aquatics

OtakuThugster's Mini-reef

Hi Everybody,

I just wanted to introduce myself and possibly get acquainted with other members.

I've been aquareefing for over 10 years, and boy, it's been an addictive, fun, frustrating, and expensive adventure all rolled into one. Initially, I started relatively big with a 50 gallon, going off of numerous recommendations from books I read, then eventually upgrading to a 70-ish gallon along the way, which is still up and running and houses all of my homemade frags as well as some older softies.

My latest attempt at reefing is a first for me, a mini-reef weighing in at ~30 gallons. In addition, I've never kept SPS's before due to lack of halides. Fortunately, I stumbled upon the JBJ Nano Cube-HQI, while browsing at 6th Ave (yeah, I know, I know, you just have to be picky, thou'). This aquarium's now been up and running since the beginning of summer '08 and haven't had any mishaps yet ***crossing fingers & knocking on wood***. Here's some pics of it as well as some specs:

Full system shot (front view):

This is the welcoming view as you enter my house (right view):

Main viewing angle since it's right next to the couch (left view):

Inhabitants include:[*]Assorted Acroporas[*]Pink-tipped Pocillopora[*]Pink Birds Nest[*]Rainbow Montipora[*]Orange Montipora[*]Green Montipora Spongodes[*]Meteor Shower Cyphastrea[*]War Coral[*]Cup Coral[*]Horn Coral[*]Blastomussa Wellsi[*]Watermelon Chalice[*]Purple/Green/Brown Maze Coral[*]Brain Corals (Red/Green + Green)[*]Branching Frogspawn[*]Orange Acans[*]Pink Gorgorian[*]Trumpet Coral[*]Orange Ricordea[*]Pink Anemone[*]Tree Coral[*]Snake Polyps[*]Orange Clove PolypsAssorted ZoanthidsPulsing XeniaTridacnid Crocea clamFeather Duster wormsCleaner ShrimpArrowhead Crab (yup, for the bristle worms)Red/Black Sea StarClarki Clownfish (damn, this dude used to bite)Flameback Pygmy Angel