Jestersix

Testing my RO system water Help

Ayman

Supporting Member
So i bought a cheap amzon TDS tester since I was wondering what my water quality is like.
Out of the box i am not sure if i even need to calibrate for accurate readings but i looked at the manufacture detail and i could not find anywhere anything that says it needs calibration before use, or even how if i do need to calibrate.

My tap water reading is 161 TDS
My RO water is 190 TDS which is higher then tap does not make any sense
I also tests a bottle of filtered water and it was 21 TDS
IMG_5509.jpeg

My RO/DI filters are used and not new got them when I boght my tank second hand a few months ago.

I am new to this so any directions is welcome.

Attachments

• IMG_5181.jpeg
    IMG_5181.jpeg
    73.2 KB · Views: 45
I'd replace all the filters cause you have no idea how long the previous person was running them. That sediment filter is practically brown, so I'm guessing the other two are completely exhausted. Make sure the carbon cartridge you get can handle chloramines as well (post the link here if you want to be sure). Make sure you're also getting water from the correct line and not the waste line too!

I would replace all of the filters. Your tds readout should be 0. You can purchase a tds meter which attaches directly to the output of the RODI.
If you have been using that water, I would personally try to do a couple larger water changes with 0 tds water asap before issues arise.

Cool will do that and I agree after finding out what the root cause is since i do not think it should read that high of TDS even if the cartages are toast. At least from what i have been reading online. Will replace all filter tommorw will try to locate at LFS hopfully i can find them and do a serius water change.

Yeah maybe Neptune or Aquatic collection has those, but they're a non standard brand. The RO membrane is standard though.