Jestersix

Dosing alk?

IOnceWasLegend

Frag Swap Coordinator
BOD
In an effort to keep my parameters stable (specifically, alk), I'm interested in starting dosing. I did a quick test today, and the relevant parameters were:

Calcium: 540 ppm (seems high)

Alk: 7.5

pH: 8.0

That seems pretty high for calcium, and I've been having trouble keeping my alk over 8 without water changes every two or three days. I'm still learning about dosing, but - given this - am I correct in assuming that I should:

1. Dose alkalinity only to start (no more than 0.5 dKh per day)
  2. Measure alk and calcium every day to ensure there's no major swings en route to target alk (dkh = 9)
  3. Once I've hit 9 and have more balance between alk and calcium, THEN start a time course measuring alk/calcium usage every day?

That sounds very reasonable. I just started down this path by getting a Trident. I began dosing All For Reef manually which is expensive but easy, since you only need to dose one thing. Once I got alkalinity to my target, I got a DOS and have started automatic dosing to keep it there.

As long as your Ca+ is over 400 , it really doesn't matter. But @Coral reefer is right, don't worry about that for now. Work one variable at a time...

You should see what my Ca is... waaay over the norm. But as long as my alknos good, everything works itself out

Alk changes much more rapidly, and too-rapid changes in it are much more dangerous. So as you are adjusting your Alk dosing you need to test every day until you have a dose locked in, then can test less frequently. Alk levels also fluctuate throughout the day/night cycle even with continuous dosing (more Alk is used up when lights are on), so make sure you are measuring at consistent times of day. Otherwise you might mistake normal variation as needing to increase or decrease your dosing.