Reef nutrition

Hello Reefers

I've been keeping freshwater planted tank for a while and want to eventually start my reef tank. I'm a software engineer by day and parent by night so that leave little time left for the fishies so my goal will be softies, may be lps.

The plan:
Start out with a 55g learning tank, probably no sump, with cheap/used equipments to get acquainted to the basics and try out different type of corals. This will eventually become QT tank and stay in the garage.
Once I have more confidence in being able to keep stuff alive, I want to get a 5ft DT for the living room (will have to work on getting the "boss" approval).

I'm planning to move in the summer so I won't get started till after the move.

Happy reefing.

Welcome, Roostertech. Good idea you plan to take it slow. I think a new hobbyist workshop will happen later this year, which might be of interest to you in addition to the forums here.

I talked to Denzil our webmaster. Apparently the trigger word was "software". Think he fixed it.

Definitely do your homework before buying a new or used tank.

Welcome!!!

I talked to Denzil our webmaster. Apparently the trigger word was "software". Think he fixed it.

Definitely do your homework before buying a new or used tank.

Welcome!!!

That is hilarious given where we are.

Anyhow, I'm still debating if I want to get a system that is factory plumbed or try to do my own piping. I love building stuff myself but I have a healthy fear of flooding the house after a back siphon incident during maintenance of my freshwater tank.

You would design fail safes into your sump. Just one example, my sump is only half full at any time due to the position of my baffles and where I keep the water line.

If my power turns off, the return nozzles will vacuum water into the sump but only to a small extent since they are at the top.

I designed my sump to fully handle the extra water that would drain into it during a power outtage.