Cali Kid Corals

Kay's Coral Cove long overdue introduction! About Us and our QT process!

Arvin R

Sponsor
Hey BAR!

I've been meaning to do a proper introduction of Kay's Coral Cove along with a thorough about us/about our quarantine process but haven't had time to get around to it until now. We hope you enjoy the read!

Kay’s Coral Cove started in Jan 2023 but the idea was quite some time before that as I was a hobbyist. As all hobbyists do, I loved acquiring new coral and adding them to my tank. What I hated about that is the lengthy acclimation process that everyone tells you to do with any coral no matter who’s tank or what store it came from. This is a process any hobbyists should be familiar with. Float to temp, drip acclimate, coral dip (maybe twice), rinse in tank water, then place it in the tank and find the perfect spot for it. Even after doing all that, some corals just don’t open up until a few days or weeks, a 2nd “acclimation” process that we hobbyists deal with. People state, “the coral needs time to get used to your tank and your parameters.”

I got tired of having to do all this work every time I added corals to my display tank, and also didn’t come to care for the guessing game of when will this coral open into full glory or will it just wither away a slow death without me being able to enjoy it’s beauty.

The question I had to figure out was how can we provide the highest quality corals to our future clients. How do we differentiate ourselves and bring more value than the multitude of other coral vendors out there. Fully quarantined, pest free, tank conditioned corals. (Ok, it started just as pest free corals, but here we are now and I don’t want this reading to take up too much of your time with our history.)