High Tide Aquatics

Vinegar dosing

I’m still learning about carbon dosing, but I believe it increases bacteria population by providing them with an easier food source and then the increased bacteria population is better at reducing nitrate than phosphate because it is easier to ‘eat’ nitrates.

I don’t believe it will only reduce NO3 but it will reduce it more than it will reduce PO4

I’m still learning about carbon dosing, but I believe it increases bacteria population by providing them with an easier food source and then the increased bacteria population is better at reducing nitrate than phosphate because it is easier to ‘eat’ nitrates.

I don’t believe it will only reduce NO3 but it will reduce it more than it will reduce PO4
You are correct.

Does vinegar dosing reduce nitrate without affecting phosphate?
It shoild reduce both indirectly. This is carbon dosing as max explained it increase the bacterial population.
The no3 reduction is usually much more faster than po4 reduction thats why some times ppl think carbon dosing reduce only no3.
But when done correctly ot actually reduce both, but again with much faster reduction on the no3. That is also why people can get in to imbalance trouble when carbon dos9ng cause an over dose can deplete your no3 while po4 still detectable

My current situation is that phosphate dropped from 0.1 to 0.02 while nitrate stayed the same (25) without any dosing. I believe it is the Chaeto starting to do its thing but I’m not sure. So, I now have a bigger imbalance.

That being said, I don’t have any issues with algae, bacteria or unhappy corals.

My current situation is that phosphate dropped from 0.1 to 0.02 while nitrate stayed the same (25) without any dosing. I believe it is the Chaeto starting to do its thing but I’m not sure. So, I now have a bigger imbalance.

That being said, I don’t have any issues with algae, bacteria or unhappy corals.
Are you using any po4 remover media?

Nope. Nothing.