Jestersix

Matthew's 65g Skyward Reef

Matthew Meyer

Supporting Member
Hello Everyone,

In this thread I will be documenting my build of my 65 gallon reef tank. I had one of these tanks in 2017 and had to take it down to go to Nursing School in VA. I hope to replicate some of the successes I have seen in other Bar Reefers tanks. I highly appreciate all feedback and critique, positive or negative. If I make an error or there is a better solution please let me know. I will not be offended. I feel as though I am brand new to the hobby again after taking such a long hiatus. So without further ado.

THE PLAN:

1. 65g Aqueon AGA Reef tank (Plumbed Durso but modifying to Herbie Overflow)
2. 20g Sump with 1 baffle (To keep skimmer water level stable and to hide heater)
3. Two Mars Aqua 65w (because I just bought this townhouse and can't afford anything else
4. One Syncra Silent 3.0 Return pump with 1" return. Overflow will be two 1" drains
5. RODI system in garage which was generously donated to me from @Qwiv
6. Powered by Kasa TP-Link powerstrip (Would highly recommend 10/10)

THE GOAL

1. Mixed Reef tank with:
- White Bristletooth Tang​
- Yellow Tang​
- Blue Star Wrasse​
- Copperband Butterfly​
- Goby/Blenny​
2. Torches/Frogspawn
3. Collect different Zoa's (I am a collector)
4. PROFIT :D:rolleyes:

To do / Purchase List:

1. Trash can for saltwater mixing station
2. Heater
3. Wavemaker
4. Sand 2-3" I suppose

20220421_092306.jpg

Looking good so far!

Since you're looking for feedback: one thing I would encourage you to consider is the yellow tang if you intend this to be its permanent home. From what I was able to tell while looking, the rough consensus is that a 4' tank is a minimum recommended length for even the smallest tangs (bristletooths) and zebrasomas are much more active.