Jestersix

George's 40 upgrade

Hi all, bought a tank at the BAP gear swap - Truvu 36X15X16 (37.4 Gallon). I've been wanting to get a bigger tank for a while vs. the 29 that I have currently. The tank I picked up met a desire to have a little wider tank (15" vs. current 12"). Still working through the details, but 1st order of business is to design the stand.

I downloaded Sketchup, still working up the learning curve, as I've never used any sort of design program before.

Here's what I'm thinking for a stand.
  • 52" total length (constrained by the nook in our living room)
  • Frame: 1X4s - based on research on RC, for an aquarium this size, I should be ok not using 2X4s and this gives an extra 1.5" in width underneath.
  • Sides: I'll skin the sides and back with 1/2" ply
  • Top: 3/4" ply
  • Inside: I'll build an insert in the stand and caulk the seams, and then paint with some sort of waterproof paint (epoxy?) that will be the base for my sump. Will also do a few coats of paint or polyurethane for the rest of the inside
  • Front: I've never built furniture before. So, still trying to figure out how to do the doors.
  • The main section under the stand will have my sump. One side will hold the electrical and the other likely to store testing kits and other small supplies.
Here's a 1st draft at the framing for the stand.

FishTankStand_zps175c7a4d.jpg

Thanks Mike. I might take you up on that. What kind of overflow would you recommend?

I was going to buy a glassholes because I don't have experience fabricating acrylic. Wouldn't mind doing DIY if it's not too hard and provides better options.

i'd like to build one myself. but the space i have to actually put it together prevents me from trying. That and trying to make perfectly flat cuts from 2x4s

Mike was selling a truvu sump at the swaptoo. did you see it? I am sure he still has it if you are looking for one.

Suggestions on stand: