got ethical husbandry?

Hanging T5/MH from a wall/mount height?

IOnceWasLegend

Frag Swap Coordinator
BOD
I'd like to mount my T5/MH lights tomorrow, but 1) this is my first time mounting lights, and 2) this is my first time with non-LEDs.

I've got a lowboy frag tank (10" deep), so any input how high the lights should be mounted to not fry the coral?

As for mounting: I know there's dedicated hanging hardware, but is there a simpler DIY approach from Lowe's? Was thinking about getting something like this and suspending the lights from eyehooks and chains: https://www.homedepot.com/pep/Everb...i-LIA-NA-NA-NE_LIA_Closets&source=shoppingads

Unfortunately, I can't hang it from the ceiling in the only location I can put the tank.

When I ran 250w MH with a lumenbrite reflector, I had it about 12in above the waterline. When you say "fry the coral" you mean from the heat, right? A 10" deep tank will heat up from the light, no doubt. I would start off high and then move down slowly as necessary (Ideally using a PAR meter). Are you growing out SPS?

When I ran 250w MH with a lumenbrite reflector, I had it about 12in above the waterline. When you say "fry the coral" you mean from the heat, right? A 10" deep tank will heat up from the light, no doubt. I would start off high and then move down slowly as necessary (Ideally using a PAR meter). Are you growing out SPS?

I'd like to, eventually. I'm going to start off with zoas/softies, move up to LPS when I feel the tank is stabilized a bit, and then grow SPS when it's matured a bit. So I'd like to have all three, ideally.

Regarding heat: I'm not going to run water through it until I've got a chiller hooked up to a temp controller installed on the system. I meant frying it from the light intensity, though.