Kessil

Taking apart Red Sea Reefer overflow/plumbing for cleaning

JVU

President
BOD
I want to do a deep cleaning of my Red Sea Reefer overflow chamber and associated plumbing to/from the sump. I can’t find any specific advice online from Red Sea or others about the best way to go about this. I’ve never tried to do it before.

The tank is running so I need whatever I do to be relatively efficient and quick, without breaking anything.

For starters, after turning off the return I’m thinking I’ll need to drain out the water from the overflow box before I start taking apart plumbing in the overflow box, since all the water in the box would otherwise come down and so I can sort of see what I’m doing.

I’m not really sure how to remove the 3 pipes in the overflow box. I sort of recall they just screw in, but maybe with a ratcheting sound like they aren’t meant to come apart later? Any advice here?

The pipes in the stand look pretty straightforward, each with a union. Awkward angled shapes though.

Any advice or references would be much appreciated, thanks.

I just did this recently. You screw them in by hand. The three pipes screws into the bulkhead. The bulkhead is GLUED/screwed in and is locked in with a bulkhead nut. Leave that alone. Trust me, I screwed that one up royally.

Mike has a very good ideal.

Reactions: JVU
So I did something a while back with pipes in walls and so on.
What I did:
Turned off returns for two days, so moved heaters and added airstone.
I put flexible hose on the end of the overflow pipes that were in the sump.
Those hoses went out to a bucket. With a cap on the end of the hose.
I then filled overflow and all pipes with vinegar, and let it sit overnight.
I then flushed it all out with tap water, into buckets. Used a hose to spray into overflow, ends up in bucket.
Then simply disconnect hoses, and run as normal.
No disconnecting anything.

So I did something a while back with pipes in walls and so on.
What I did: