got ethical husbandry?

Very low alk…

MarcosDelgado0

Supporting Member
Alright guys. Total noob moment here. Basically I ran out of reagent so I got lazy and stopped testing for like over a month. I’ve been doing the same amount of AFR consistently but I will admit I’ve added corals and didn’t increase the dose. I bought reagent and did a test today and my alk is at 5.8 dKH… I didn’t even know it could get that low. My corals still seem happy? Have had no losses and everything’s opened up. I do only have torches/hammers/zoas mostly, other than a golden rod and a monti. I know the saying nothing good happens fast so I’m planning to increase dosage slowly to raise alk back up but in what time span should I increase so I don’t have a “spike”?

How big is your tank and what is your current daily doseage of AFR?
It’s the 50 Gallon Low Boy with a 34 Gallon Sump. Probably 75 gallons total water volume system. I think the minimum is 5ml/26 gallons. I had done daily testing before and starting dosing 25ml daily and that gave me a stable all around 9dKH. I’ve been doing that same 25ml consistently, but I have added coral without increasing dosage. I didn’t think they’d consume that much more

5.8 is too low but not really dangerously low. 7.0 is normal for reefs in the wild. Your corals are ok likely because the change was slow. Just add more and let it drift upwards. You want it raise no more than about 0.5 dKH a day (you can do faster but don’t need to). I’d just start dosing 30 ml and see how it goes for a couple days, then 35 ml, etc.

More coral, but also as your corals are growing more successfully it will continue to require more. That’s the difficulty with AFR and how expensive it is; starts out not so bad and then before you know it you are dosing 2x as much as you started with. (I am up to 18ml/day AFR for a 45 gallon).

If I was you I would increase to 28ml/day and do an immediate and daily 5ml booster dose to try and get you back to an acceptable range.