Kessil

What's a good goby to get to keep sand clean? but...

So here's the deal. I'm new to the hobby and have just setup my new 30 L IM Nuvo. And as a rookie, I went with some really good looking fishes which I could get my hands on for a bargain (nothing is cheap in this hobby as it turns out). I ended up getting a beautiful Yellow Head/Blue Streak Goby. Honestly this thing is great looking. But here's the problem - my frogspawn, acans, blastos, some other corals aclimating, zoas in low places - absolutely hate the sand storm this little beauty creates. Honestly, it's painful seeing a beautifully opened up zoa colony just close up as sand just pours over it right in front of my eyes. So I'm netted it and kept him in a breeder box for now and this beauty goes back to LFS tomorrow (I only knocked over 2 corals trying to get this fish out).

One thing I really liked about this goby was that it constantly kept my sand turned. Honestly, my sand looks really nice and fluffy but I don't like it's habit of taking a mouthful of sand and going up to the top to dump it right in front of my powerhead or wave maker.

So I do still want to keep a goby which can keep my sand clean and oxygenated but I also don't want it to disturb my corals on the sand bed. Am I looking for some kind of utopia that does not exist? Is there a goby out there specially designed for me? Or do I give up hope of keeping a goby and look for something else?

Please help!

salty.jpeg

Diamond watchman goby
I have one and it dose a good job keeping sand bed turned. Also stays at the bottom when doing so. Recommend get a screen on top of tank as they are known to jump out.
1883e6b97fdee54b174620a98f0a9b89.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited: