Reef nutrition

Dennis' Tank Journal

dochou

Supporting Member
As a young child I was introduced to keeping aquariums by my dad. He kept a 30 gallon fresh water tank for many years. When I got college, many of my fraternity brothers were into freshwater aquariums too. So I started my own. I kept cichlids, oscars and arowanas. The arowanas were my favorite. I raised a few from hatchling size to 18 inches. My favorite LFS was Nippon on Geary Blvd in SF. They had so many fish to choose from. I was so impressed with their selection. That’s when I really got interested in saltwater fish, but as a college student, I couldn’t afford it until later in life. Later, Nippon started keeping reef tanks and selling coral and I was hooked. After college I bought a used FO setup that included a lionfish. I kept that for a couple years then bought 30 gal with a wet/dry filter and a cheap pine stand. I kept that for about 4 yrs raising fish and keeping brown/tan LPS unsuccessfully. The lighting consisted of fluorescent bulbs. After learning and reading more, I moved up to a 60 gal tank with a sump and real live rock. I used 2 250W MH bulbs on this setup. This time I was more successful at keeping LPS and softies. I also started keeping montipora with great success. However, I had many tank crashes with this set up. It seemed like every time I went on vacation, I would return to a disaster of some sort. The equipment was subpar and unreliable. This tank was up for about 6 years. As I learned more I got the itch to start another bigger tank. So I ordered a custom sized 110 gal tank with center overflow and black back,, sump, stand, and canopy.