got ethical husbandry?

IceCap ballasts

Wow, I keep starting all these threads - sorry if I am getting annoying :p But it's not my fault you are all such a great help and a great resource for advice and opinions, and facts ;D

So, I am considering purchasing a used 250w IC ballast. I'm informed it is a couple years old. Since I am new to buying MH ballasts, how long are these bad boys expected to last on average? I know there are always exceptions, such as premature burn out. I am trying to figure out if it would be worth purchasing a new one off of MD for $130, or getting it used for substantially cheaper.
What do you all think?

I have an old one that keep chugging along, IIRC, if they stay cooler during their life, they last longer, at least according to Dan from PGS.

That said if had the money I'd get a new one because they've made some changes and the new ballasts perform better.

What Jeremy said, however I thought Dan was anti-electronic ballast from what he said during our talk... or at least as far as fixing them :D

Me, if it's a really good price, sure why not, if it's $10-20 less than new, I'd get the new versions if you were stuck on buying an icecap.

I still have some love for magnetic ballasts however.

[quote author=sfsuphysics link=topic=4829.msg58748#msg58748 date=1223918332]
What Jeremy said, however I thought Dan was anti-electronic ballast from what he said during our talk... or at least as far as fixing them :D

[/quote]

His new ballasts are IceCap. My understanding was that the e-ballasts were not as cost effective on the initial purchase, but with the materials costs on mag ballasts heading to the moon the e-ballasts were a becoming a good alternative. He was very anti-"HQI", and lamented having to make DE lumen arcs, and wondering why the hobby has not moved towards position oriented SEs.

So it sounds as though I may be better off purchasing a new one from MD, rather than second hand, unless the second hand ballast is dirt cheap.