Neptune Aquatics

New to BAR, want some input from more experienced Bay Area reefers

Hi everyone,

My name is Gabe. I'm a graduate student studying fungal biology at UC Berkeley. I set up my first reef tank in college in Dallas, Tx. I absolutely loved the Dallas Fort-Worth Marine Aquarium Society, so the first thing I did after getting situated here was look up the Bay Area equivalent. Now that I've moved to the bay, pretty much every part of my life is better than it was in Texas...Except I haven't had a stable enough living situation to set up another reef tank yet! I just signed a lease for a small townhouse in North Oakland that has a private garage. I have permission from the owner to set up an aquarium in the garage only (since it cannot damage the floors there). The garage is situated underneath the townhouse, with interior walls on three sides. My question to you all is this: will it pose a huge problem to have a mid sized system (75 gallon DT, 50 gallon fuge/algae tank, and 30 to 4o gallon sump) in a garage like this in the winter in terms of heating? I am fine with the tank getting down to ~73-74 at the coldest, but I'm not sure how cold it will be in the garage mid winter. My guess is the temp in the garage will be in the 60s most of the year. Any opinions on whether it will be prohibitively expensive to keep the aquarium heated in the winter or whether I would need to add insulation to the tanks or something?

Thanks,
Gabe

For summer, it depends on what direction the garage faces. In winter, I've done tanks in similar situations in Oakland. I'd actually make a false wall using some plastic.

The garage faces north, though it wouldn't get much sun either way considering it is covered by a house and a building is directly south of it.

So you're saying I should build temporary walls to wall in the tank area so it retains heat? What exactly do you have in mind when you say plastic false walls? I really appreciate the input.