Our mission

Protein skimmer

So about a month ago I threw out my current protein skimmer. It was constantly blowing micro bubbles everywhere and I wasn’t sure if I needed it or not. I have a 13.5 gallon and I was struggling with Dino’s, probably due to low phos/nitrate. I’ve since cut back on the Dino’s significantly and raised the nutrients. I guess I should probably reintroduce a skimmer but I’d like a better one. Any suggestions for an easy to use/install skimmer that is also effective?

We're you using the fluval ps2 Skimmer?

If so, There aren't a lot of options that match that 3"x3" footprint to fit in the first chamber.

The icecap k1 nano might fit but you need to double check the space in that chamber. I have no personal experience with the equipment but the design is very similar to successful skimmers.

There are a few options that use limewood "airstone" instead of a needlewheel on a pump. Smaller form factor but higher maintenance as the "airstone" has to be replaced periodically to maintain efficiency.

The other option is something that "hangs on the back" instead of trying to fit inside the chamber. These will hold more water volume and have more dwell time which will be more efficient but generally come at a higher cost.

My daughters 29g biocube runs with just a filter roller and a refugium.

It's actually too clean. The sailfin blenny hasn't had any algae to clean off the glass and is starting to look thin. I just reduced the amount of time the refugium light is running.

What are the reasons you want to have a skimmer?

It sounds like your nutrients are already low enough. And as long as you have a decent trickle from your overflow weir and good surface agitation, a small skimmer won’t add much for gas exchange.

My mom runs the same tank without a skimmer and water changes every 3-4 weeks. It can be done so long as you are getting good surface agitation from your pump or added wavemakers.