got ethical husbandry?

Invited Speaker for 2020

Why do you want a speaker? What does the club want to learn that those that attend don't have some insight into? How will what the speaker discusses make a real difference? That's the questions to ask. Consider who will attend. Their general level and areas of expertise, and then target the person of the most benefit. If you're going to bring in an advanced subject speaker how many will get real benefit?
To me its simple. Knowlegde...

I wasn't indicating in any way that I thought a speaker was a bad idea. I've been pushing for one for a few years. The point was I keep seeing "we need a speaker. How about his guy or this guy? Are we shooting to high? Too low?"
The point was the question should be if we get guy 1 what will he discuss and what value to the greater club is that? Same with each.There should be a reason the choice is made.

I wasn't indicating in any way that I thought a speaker was a bad idea. I've been pushing for one for a few years. The point was I keep seeing "we need a speaker. How about his guy or this guy? Are we shooting to high? Too low?"
The point was the question should be if we get guy 1 what will he discuss and what value to the greater club is that? Same with each.There should be a reason the choice is made.
Curious when you were pushing for speakers, who did you have in mind and why? This info would complete your post earlier.
I think regardless of how advance the speaker is, there will be audience and there will be lesson learned from their talks. These speakers, especially ligit ones, know how to simplify complex topic and package it in practical manner and link it to h9bby practices. This is true for advance marine folks like Rich and DR. Tim and Randy holmes to product folks like Terrance for automation and such.