Kessil

Gryphon

PjFish

Supporting Member
Hi Everyone,
As I fish along the north Cal coast I collect small pieces of natural polished abalone that has already washed up on the shoreline. I give them to my daughter who turns them into custom made jewelry for her business. She has been cutting and shaping them with a small hand saw which is a vary tedious process having to keep them wet to avoid airborne dust which can cause serious health issues. She also uses anvils and various torches in her studio..
My question is if the gryphon band saw would cut abalone?
I've seen it cut glass but I've never used one before only have experience with larger concrete and tile saws in the past.
Before I purchase one for her business would like anyone's opinion on the subject..By default then I'll have access to use it as well for corals lol..
Posting a few pics of her work so you get a better understanding of the shapes from raw pieces I find to finish.
Thanks
Paul

Attachments

• Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-36-24.jpg
    Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-36-24.jpg
    157.6 KB · Views: 126
  • Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-34-35.jpg
    Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-34-35.jpg
    151.2 KB · Views: 126
  • Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-33-21.jpg
    Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-33-21.jpg
    50.8 KB · Views: 121

Attachments

• Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-35-30.jpg
    Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-35-30.jpg
    41.6 KB · Views: 119
  • Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-40-40.jpg
    Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-40-40.jpg
    39.2 KB · Views: 112
  • Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-41-01.jpg
    Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-41-01.jpg
    63.5 KB · Views: 116
  • Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-32-59.jpg
    Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-32-59.jpg
    57 KB · Views: 119

Attachments

• Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-41-48.jpg
    Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-41-48.jpg
    55.4 KB · Views: 127
  • Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-34-07.jpg
    Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-34-07.jpg
    71.1 KB · Views: 102
  • Screenshot_2021-11-08-10-37-28.jpg